Home > marketing, social media, social media tools > Social Media Wish List: Shared Facebook Lists

Social Media Wish List: Shared Facebook Lists

Shared Facebook Interest Lists

Even though I have 25 followers on this Facebook interest list, none of them can help me curate the list.

If you’re like me, when you use social networks, you get inundated by the full stream of status updates, tweets, posts or whatever else appears.

That’s why you use segmented features to navigate the social networks that you use frequently.

Facebook and Twitter have lists while Google+ has circles and Pinterest has boards. As more and more people jump onto more and more social networks, segmented features become an invaluable tool for social network users to navigate through the parts that are most important to them.

Facebook lists

That’s exactly how I’ve come to use Facebook. I rely heavily on Facebook interest lists.

And that leads me to my social wish list, a list of feature that I would like to see on social networks. For Facebook, that means shared interest lists.

Right now Facebook lists work like this: You can combine pages and friends and people you follow onto a list. Do you want to have all of your TV shows together? Make it a part of an interest list.

You can do that for any topic, from hobbies to sports to entertainment and more. (I recommend making one for your hometown, including all the restaurants and municipal pages together, so you can keep tabs on what’s happening around your home.)

You can then share your list, and others can subscribe to it.

But what happens when someone who is following your list finds that they have a page to add to the list? Right now, the only choices that person has is to start their own list, replicating all the work already done, or to contact the list owner and let them know they are missing something they might want on their list.

That’s certainly the situation that I have encountered with some of the lists that I follow. Some of my Facebook friends have similar interests to me, as surely some of your friends have with you. So why do I need to make my own list of Wisconsin food producers when I could allow my friends to help me build it together instead of building ours independently?

How it could work

To me, shared Pinterest boards should be the model Facebook emulates. By that I mean one person starts a Facebook list and can give co-ownership to others to help curate that list. And, just as on Pinterest, others are free to subscribe to (or follow) the list.

Another example of what Facebook interest lists could strive for is Listly. On Listly, users make lists and can allow others to help add to those lists. Facebook lists could be set up similarly. Allow list creators the ability to open up list curation to others.

So, please, if anyone at Facebook is reading this, work on allowing users to give co-ownership of lists to others so that lists can be harnessed by the power of community.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 22, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

