Home > marketing, social media > Facebook Removes Page Option to Post Link with No Thumbnail

Facebook Removes Page Option to Post Link with No Thumbnail

Posting a Link with No Thumbnail on Facebook

I tried posting a link to my food blog page, A Duo of Chefs. Before Facebook would give an option to use no thumbnail. Now that option is removed.

Facebook has the ability to be outstanding and ever so frustrating, and anything in between, all at once.

It was the frustrated end of the spectrum that I felt recently when I found out Facebook took away the ability to post a link with no thumbnail as a page.

Thumbnails begone

Before, Facebook would give me an option below the thumbnail preview to use no thumbnail. Now that option is gone.

In general, it’s not a big deal. But there are some links that I post that I do not want to use a thumbnail, mostly because the thumbnail options that populate on Facebook don’t have anything to do with the link that I want to post.

Personal account

However, on my personal account, I can still choose to post a link without a thumbnail. This change seems to affect only pages that I manage.

There are other options to post links without thumbnails. The one that I have used is Hootsuite.

Your reaction: Have you seen this change? What do you think of it?

Categories: marketing, social media Tags: ,
  1. June 17, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    I agree, absolutely. I have been frantically trying to solve this problem. I am trying to post a link, and do not want the thumbnail to show. Oh, well. I did complain to Fb.

    • June 17, 2013 at 8:05 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Marla. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who posts without a link. Here’s hoping FB brings back this ability.

  2. randalwon
    June 19, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    Agreed. Annoyed here too. Our thumbnails are not relevant to the stories we post. Hope facebook remedies this soon.

    • June 19, 2013 at 3:30 pm

      Thanks for sharing! I just don’t understand why Facebook would think to take the option away.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

