Home > business, social media > Can Users Still Trust Other Google Products?

Can Users Still Trust Other Google Products?

The Death of Google Reader

Creative Commons photo by Irish Typepad

As I sit here, most of my Twitter stream and lots of people I am connected with on other networks are complaining about the impending death of Google Reader.

I’m right with them, in spirit at least.

Google has not shown as much support for it as it has for its other products. And it’s become clear after a petition to save Reader that the product has a big and devoted audience.

So it stands to reason: Can users continue to trust other Google products?

Google stalwarts

Make no mistake: There are some products that users can continue to use. Gmail, Google+, Analytics, AdWords and YouTube should all be safe. They’re among the best products or have no true competitors.

But what of others? Blogger, Calendar, Drive. They’re all products I use on a daily basis, but they are certainly other options out there if I lost faith in Google.

Consider in addition that Google ceased AdWords functionality in Feedburner in the past year.

All hail Google+

That Google has pulled support for Reader based on what others perceive as it being in competition with G+ demonstrates to users that Google is not afraid to pull its products, even if the user base is there.

Certainly it is not what it used to be, but based on petitions to save Reader, it’s safe to assume there are lots of people, like me, who use it every day.

How do you feel? Will you continue to use other Google products?

  1. June 5, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    Thank you, I’ve recently been searching for information approximately this topic for a while and yours is the best I’ve came
    upon so far. However, what concerning the conclusion?

    Are you positive about the source?

  2. September 4, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout
    of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  3. September 7, 2013 at 9:40 pm

    I would like to identify whether I should do letter trademark or copyright for
    next…. . Your pseudonym can be used too render tunes (band) photography,
    creating and also online store. . . I would like to possess ones name and also protect really services under
    this, what is the best way of doing it? Do I have to help keep copyrighting individual items?.

  4. September 13, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard
    on. Any tips?

  5. January 28, 2014 at 1:54 am

    When I originally commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when
    new comments are added- checkbox and from now on
    every time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the exact same comment.
    Is there a way you can remove me from that service? Thank you!

  6. March 28, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found
    any interesting article like yours. It is
    pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and
    bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

