Home > personal, self-help > My 3 Words for 2013

My 3 Words for 2013

Chris Brogan's 2010 Words

Three words driving Chris Brogan through the start of 2010. Creative Commons photo courtesy of topgold.

I have never been one to make New Year’s resolutions. But last year I did something different after learning about what Chris Brogan does.

I chose three words — Passion, Challenge, Connect — and used them as a way to frame my year. I am doing the same this year.

Pursuit

Follow “it,” whatever “it” is: Dreams, opportunities, success. Don’t let them slip away, never to come back. Keep on track, and do it consistently.

That is pursuit, and that is what I need.

Commitment

Sometimes, in my personal life, I start a task or project and then I don’t finish it. I get disinterested and move onto the next task or project. I want that behavior to stop.

I want to pick up a task or project and see it to fruition. I want to revel in the feeling of a job done, and done well.

And I also want to demonstrate my commitment to being a better husband, a better friend, a better person.

Create

This word has a couple of meanings, but the one that I’m most interested in is create content. I want to get back to blogging regularly here and at my food blog.

I also want to create works of fiction. In the past, fiction writing has been a very sporadic activity. Now I want it to be something I put more effort into, something that I set aside dedicated time for, even if it’s only every other week.

The same goes for other types of content I want to create: Paintings (acrylics and non), social (Storify) and more.

Bring it, 2013

If I can harness pursuit, commitment and create this year, I know it will be a very good year.

What are your three words for this year?

Categories: personal, self-help Tags: ,
  1. January 7, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    Definitely Commitment is my #1 this year. I have committed to quite a few things last year and not really accomplishing much of it all. This year I focus on less to produce more.

    Thanks for posting this!

    • January 8, 2013 at 11:32 am

      Yes! I think getting in the zone of seeing something accomplished once an effort is started is what a lot of people could choose as a theme for their year.

  2. January 7, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    This is a great list and more realistic to achieve.

  3. January 8, 2013 at 8:16 am

    I love this. It sounds like sticking with it is a big one for all of us. You can do it!

  1. January 7, 2014 at 9:16 am

Leave a Reply

