Home > entertainment > 5 Fall TV Shows to Watch

5 Fall TV Shows to Watch

September is a great month for television as networks roll out series for the fall season.

And, sure, there’s a lot of returning shows I’m looking forward to — “New Girl,” “Fringe,” “The League,” “The Walking Dead” and “Community” highlight those — but it’s the new series that bring the excitement. The potential, the hype, it always intrigues.

Here are the top new TV shows that I’m looking forward to.

“Arrow”

 

I am really waiting for this one, and not just because it is an adaptation of DC Comics’ Green Arrow character. It’s because the best new show of the previous year was “Ringer” from CW, even though the network canceled it.

I am hoping this series is equally as great, but attracts more viewers.

Series premiere: 7 p.m. Central Oct. 10

“Revolution”

Yes, I’m a sucker for J.J. Abrams. “Lost,” “Fringe,” “Alcatraz,” “Person of Interest.”

And this dystopian future series shows humanity without electricity, and, of course, there’s a big mystery thrown in, too.

Series premiere: 9 p.m. Central Sept. 17

“Elementary”

A remake on Sherlock and Holmes with Lucy Liu as Watson, the two solve improbable NYPD cases.

This is one of those series that I could see watching for a few episodes but quickly becoming bored with. We shall see.

Series premiere: 9 p.m. Central Sept. 27

“Last Resort”

A U.S. ballistic missile submarine is ordered to fire nuclear weapons. The captain demands confirmation orders, but is relieved of duty instead. The XO faces the same situation and refuses to fire, and the sub is targeted by a missile and hit. What does the crew do now?

Like “Elementary,” this is another on-the-fence series that I will watch, but I could see myself giving up on it if it doesn’t impress in the first few episodes.

Series premiere: 7 p.m. Central Sept. 27

“666 Park Avenue”

Inevitably, each year there are previews of a show that I watch and I think, “This looks really interesting, and I’ll watch it, but how will the back story lend itself to more than one season?” This year, this is that show.

In this series, an apartment building could give you everything you want, but with a price.

Series premiere: 9 p.m. Central Sept. 30

What new shows will you be viewing this fall season?

Categories: entertainment Tags:
  1. September 17, 2012 at 10:34 am

    VERY much looking forward to Revolution and 666 Park Avenue.

  2. September 17, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Dan.. I only heard of Revolution and looking forward to that…. I didn’t get into the Walking dead after the first month. Too me, it seemed like the same old thing. I love the NCIS shows.. I liked Person of Interest a lot and it got better as the season went along. There are some other new shows coming out that I am looking forward to.

  3. September 17, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    I am looking forward to watching these shows! Always good to know of new and interesting things to watch on TV. The question is, do they have them in Canada yet?

  4. September 17, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    hmmm I prefer shows low Downton Abbey and Sherlock 😉

  5. October 1, 2012 at 9:48 am

    So far, I’ve been underwhelmed by “Revolution” and “Elementary.” I have not seen “Last Resort” or “666 Park Avenue” yet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

