Home > entertainment, personal, social media > HOW TO: Use Facebook Interest Lists

HOW TO: Use Facebook Interest Lists

Facebook Interest List view

Here’s a view of my Social Media Tools interest list.

Facebook has been in the news a lot recently with rumors and new features being announced. But the service already offers a great feature that isn’t talked about much.

Time to check out Facebook’s interest lists.

What is an interest list?

Interest lists are a great way to group similar things into one stream on Facebook. You can include pages and people on your lists.

Why should you use them?

Interest lists are great for pages because you can get all of the updates from that page in your list feed. (Otherwise, because of EdgeRank, you won’t see all of a page’s updates.)

How do you use them?

I use them to follow pages that I have liked that I want to interact with more often.

One list I recommend creating: A list for your home town, with restaurants, businesses and annual events. That way, you can just click the link to that stream and see all the news of your home town.

How do you create one?

It’s a breeze to create one of these lists, and there’s two ways to do it.

  • On your news feed, click on “more” by “Interests” in your left-hand rail. On the next page, click on “Add interests.” You can then search for lists or create your own.
  • Or, on any page, you can hover over “Liked” (I’m assuming you have liked the page), and click “New list” from the drop-down menu.
  • If you have not liked the page, on the settings icon next to “Message,” select “New list” from that drop-down menu. (This is the same way you can add people to your list, too.)

Subscribe to my lists:

Do you have a favorite Facebook interest list to share? Please do so in the comments.

  1. August 27, 2012 at 9:12 am

    Finally a way pages can help their community see more of their communications – making the relationship more equitable.

    • August 27, 2012 at 11:39 am

      Definitely. Pages should try to suggest to their likes (read: fans) that they should put the page on an interest list. Great point.

  2. August 27, 2012 at 9:47 am

    This is a really great time saver Dan. Thanks for the info. Great post!

  3. August 27, 2012 at 11:08 am

    Love this and have dabbled in this but not as much as I should. I think it will help with interacting with those pages and people I want and also make the TL more relevant to what I really want! Have to get on it!

  4. August 27, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Dan… I knew about friends lists, but I didn’t know about this… very interesting and thanks for sharing this.. because this can open up many other doors re: pages and such.

    • August 27, 2012 at 11:37 am

      Yes, it’s a great way to use Facebook, and I try to make sure every page I like gets sorted onto one of my lists. That way I can always see content when I want it.

  5. Sheila Hibbard
    August 27, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Dan…many thanks for the instructions. I haven’t messed with this feature. I’ve seen it on other pages, but just never got around to figuring out how it works. Like Michele, I like the local community aspect. Thank you.

    • August 27, 2012 at 1:39 pm

      You’re welcome. I think creating a list for your home town is the best way anyone can use this feature.

  6. August 27, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    I haven’t even thought about trying to put any lists together yet on FB, but your article makes it seem very easy and interesting!

    Great post, Dan – looking forward to giving it a try!

  7. August 28, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Immediately implemented some of these tips! Great information – thanks!

  8. August 28, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    Thanks for pointing this out Dan, I didn’t even know this tool was available 🙂

  9. August 28, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    Thanks for the education Dan well done

  10. February 25, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    I blog frequently and I really thank you for your information.
    The article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to
    book mark your blog and keep checking for new information about
    once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  1. January 14, 2013 at 7:35 am

Leave a Reply

