Home > personal, social media > Rethinking Klout

Rethinking Klout

There’s been a lot said about Klout.

I don’t want to get into a rehash of what’s said before, but I want to express a couple of thoughts I have about the service.

I will say that the +K efforts that Klout rolled out is a step in the right direction. But even that has limited appeal. Let’s take a look at an example.

Below is my Klout profile, with a list of people I influence and a list of topics I’m influential about. Now, notice my bio, which was imported straight from my Twitter bio.

Klout

Yes, I have a food blog, and I write about Wisconsin a lot. Now what do tweeps think I am influential about?

Klout Topics

Milwaukee and food.

So the problem I have with +K, essentially, is that those topics (and more not pictured) are already summed up in my profile. In other words, tweeps who fill out detailed profiles don’t gain anything with +K. Sure, my score goes up, but I don’t really care about that.

What I care about is connecting. And I generally already connect with people who fill out their Twitter profile, so the +K hasn’t given me much impetus to be excited.

What I’d like to see

Let’s allow the user to have some sort of influence over the topics that are auto-generated. Or even just an immediate refresh if you delete ones you don’t think pertain to you.

As it is, experimenting with +K has reaffirmed my support for Klout as lukewarm.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

