Home > business, personal, self-help > “Not My Job. It is Now.”

“Not My Job. It is Now.”

Seth Godin's Linchpin

Creative Commons photo courtesy of hagge

Those words were a few of those that I’ve read in Seth Godin’s “Linchpin.” (I’m about one-third through the book.)

A lot of Godin’s points have struck home to me, but this one in particular I thought was important and worth expanding from my point of view.

These were words that I have unofficially tried to live by professionally. I’ve made efforts in my job to step up and do something that hadn’t been done before or that I thought should be done. Among those efforts was stepping up to take over my employer’s social media accounts, which would not have been updated had I not stepped up.

From the customer’s perspective

I think it makes sense to think about these words as a customer. Do you want to find an employee and ask them a question and have them answer, “Not my job”? No, you don’t. No one does. You want that employee to help you out, even if they think someone else could help them better.

From the employee’s perspective

That’s why when you think about how you act as an employee, these words are important. So this task wasn’t a part of your job description? So what? Do it anyway. Step up, do the job. Your employer will look better, and you will look better.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

