Home > business, entertainment > Confusing your customer

Confusing your customer

1/365 [dazed & confused]

Creative Commons photo courtesy of PhotoJonny

Recently I had gotten to a point where I wanted to buy a new video game. And one of the games I had been looking into was “Bioshock 2.”

So when I was at Best Buy shortly thereafter, I thought I would check out the prices.

Here’s where the title of this post comes in: When I looked at the price of a new game, it was $10, but the price of a previously-owned copy of the game was $20.

Yes.

Best Buy was charging $10 more for a previously-owned copy than for a new copy. Um, huh?

Yeah, that makes no sense. I’m assuming they’re charging more for the traded-in copy to make a profit on the transaction. But if doing so is going to put the price higher than the new copy, they shouldn’t even buy the traded in copy.

Let’s just take this as another example of why you shouldn’t confuse your customers. (Hint: I didn’t buy either copy.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

