Home > personal, social media > My Favorite Droid Apps

My Favorite Droid Apps

My HTC Desire - Apps I Use

Creative Commons photo courtesy of Jim Trottier

I upgraded to an Android-powered cellphone recently, so I’ve been checking out all sorts of apps and finding what works for me. Here’s a few of my favorite apps that I haven’t seen mentioned much.

(UPDATE 6/8/11 9:09 a.m.: I am remiss for neglecting to say that these are all free apps.)

Smooth Calendar: This app connects to Google Calendar and I use the widget on my phone. It has a lot of customizable settings, including using the color coding of your calendar, text color, app color, a.m./p.m. or military time and more.

Springpad: I’m sure a lot of people use Evernote, and this is an alternative. You can create multiple types of files, including a note or task (with tasks being deleted when you simply hit a check mark). I’ve taken to using it as a financial tool, recording purchases when I make them so I can add them to my financial spreadsheets later.

Google Maps: Yeah, this one is a pretty easy pick on the must-have apps list. The feature I most like about it is using it with real-time geolocation to see where I am in context to where I’m going. It’s particularly helpful when traveling to new places.

Battery Solo Widget: This simple widget fulfills a role I needed with my Samsung Mesmerize — accurately telling me how much power is in my battery. I hate how the standard battery icon will look half full, yet my battery is at 25 percent. This widget has a ring around it indicating how much power your battery has (and the power is also displayed in numeric figures inside the ring).

Carrr Matey: I love this app. It’s fun and functional. It’s a pirate-themed vehicle geolocation tool. Yes, you “drop anchor” when you park. That’s #squee-worthy.

I’m always looking for new apps to try. Let me know some of yours.

Categories: personal, social media Tags: ,
  1. Eva Donohoo
    June 8, 2011 at 9:07 am

    Thanks Dan, just downloaded Battery Solo Widget and Carr Matey. Listing the price/free on this post would be helpful as well.

    • June 8, 2011 at 9:11 am

      Thanks, Eva! I should have mentioned that. They’re all free apps.

      • Eva Donohoo
        June 8, 2011 at 11:38 am

        If it’s free, I’ll take three!

  2. June 8, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Retro Camera – I love the pics it takes. Lots of options, lots of different “camera” types. Pics are very nostalgic!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

