Home > social media > Why I Don’t Follow Celebrities (On Twitter)

Why I Don’t Follow Celebrities (On Twitter)

Celebrity Twitter Directory

Creative Commons photo courtesy of Travelin' Librarian

When I first started using Twitter in September 2009, I followed a lot of celebrities. It was cool; I could sneak a peak into their world and it was an extension of our “friendship” via TV or movies or popular culture.

Now, not so much.

I don’t follow celebrities on Twitter anymore.

It’s nothing personal. I find the value I get from those tweeps is quite small. Sure, there are some funny, funny celebrities, or even some interesting ones, but as I made more and more local connections on Twitter, I saw — and often received — value from those connections.

When I started following Milwaukee-area tweeps, the way Twitter affected my life began to change. I made some connections, met some new friends and acquaintances and had good times.

What have celebrities done for you lately? For me, not a thing.

Categories: social media Tags: ,
  1. Erica (erica_g)
    May 4, 2011 at 8:26 am

    I’m definitely starting to feel similar to you about celebrity following, except that I’m curious if you count athletes/sports columnists in your celebrity category. I have felt so much more connected to the players and the teams I cheer for after following players on Twitter. And even if every tweet doesn’t do it, it’s fun to see what they’re up to and thinking about during the season. And I’ve found it quite interesting to converse with people who talk about and follow sports as their job.

    • May 4, 2011 at 1:51 pm

      I don’t follow athletes either. However, as a whole, they might be more likely to be social than would Hollywood or TV celebrities.

      I should have mentioned this in my post, but another reason I don’t follow celebrities or athletes is because a lot of people I follow do and retweet them a lot.

  2. May 4, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Excellent job. I really enjoyed reading today’s post. Twitter is something that everyone can take advantage of.

    I added an article about how to set up an effective twitter account.

    Create A Professional Twitter Account

  3. Kevin Lessmiller
    June 5, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    I can see where you’re coming from, but I follow a handful of celebrities and I feel that their tweets aren’t too invasive. In other words, it’s just a couple tweets on my Twitter timeline every day. I usually don’t pay a whole lot of attention to the tweets unless its funny or interesting, and I don’t think the number of celebrities I follow “pollute” my timeline at all. Just my two cents – an interesting topic.

  4. March 1, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    celebrities don’t give back to thier fans, who support and love them. i followed 1 celebrity and i tweeted her, i hardly ever got a reply. i have heard some celebs who communicate with thier fans a lot. but i think its not worth it. do not follow them.!! i think its wrong and why should fans be sheeps. personally im not a sheep lol. i don’t undertand twitter and i find this following celebs is stupid.. for example” i ate a bowl of cereal today,”, i mean big wow. lol. id rather just listen to thier music and be a fan but this this twitter site is ridicilous.. i found that celebs communicate with people they know only.. and fans just read messages,, its stupid really.. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

