Home > personal, self-help > Set Realistic Goals

Set Realistic Goals

#12 - Goals

Photo courtesy of JohnONolan

We’re more than a quarter of the way through 2011, so I’ve had time to look back at and reflect on some of my goals for this year.

If there’s one thing that I’ve learned from setting goals this year, it’s that you need to set realistic goals.

Healthy goals

The goals for my personal and financial categories are realistic. But when I look at the goals I set in my health category, I think I went a little overboard.

I wanted to bike 2,011 miles this year as well as run 100 and run in a 5K. At the beginning of this year, those goals seemed realistic. Of course, I based those goals on last year, during which I biked about 400 miles during a three-month stretch. And I didn’t run. At all.

Why realistic?

There’s something to be said of setting goals, no matter how realistic. Sometimes, it’s to motivate yourself and get you to do a little bit, even if you fail to achieve that goal.

For some, that’s a win.

But for me, that can lead to me feeling too overwhelmed by what I’m trying to achieve that I end up not trying.

More realistic

I knew going into 2011 that I had one puppy and would be adding another to my family in the first couple of months of the year. Yet I tasked myself with biking 2,011 miles despite that. That was unrealistic.

I failed to take into consideration how much free time I had to devote to my healthy goals. In doing so, I ended up creating unrealistic goals.

Categories: personal, self-help Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

