Home > personal, self-help > The Little Picture

The Little Picture

Small is Big

Photo courtesy of Nimages DR

It’s often said that sometimes you need to take a step back and take a look at the big picture.

It’s never said that you should take a step forward and take a look at the little picture. Yet that’s precisely what I’ve been doing lately.

One of my goals for 2011 is to bike 2,011 miles on my bike. That mile-marker is such a high number that to achieve this goal, I’ve broken the mileage down by month. For January, I sought to bike 111 miles (I started on Jan. 13, so it was really half of the month).

I’ve found that I need to focus on the smaller chunks, or the worry of not meeting the goal will consume me.

If I concentrate on getting through 50 each week, I’ll hit my goal. If I concentrate on trying to get to 175 each month, my confidence erodes.

Sometimes¬†it’s all about the little picture.

Categories: personal, self-help Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

