Home > business, personal, social media > No, I Don’t Get Paid to Tweet

No, I Don’t Get Paid to Tweet

twitter - What are you doing?

Photo Courtesy of keiyac

 

Everyone has their little elevator pitch, an inner monologue of sorts to tell others about what you do and what your job entails.

And when I tell mine, I talk about being the social media producer and community manager for my job. Sometimes, people ask me (jokingly, of course) if I get paid to tweet.

I have even found myself describing this part of my job as “being able to get paid to tweet.”

But that’s false.

I don’t get paid to tweet. I get paid to engage.

I don’t know why I happened upon this realization recently. But I’m glad I did. It has helped to reinforce my professional outlook on social media. It has helped me ensure that I can not just broadcasting content on social media channels, but also connecting with people.

So next time I’m out and about and you ask me what I do, I’ll won’t be telling you that I get paid to tweet.

Categories: business, personal, social media Tags:
  1. January 21, 2011 at 11:04 am

    For those of us that are fortunate enough to participate in social networking for our livelihoods, it’s easy to say that we get paid to tweet or post on Facebook. The realization that you’ve made is a powerful one and one that I agree with 100%. Engagement is the true key to what we do, not the tools that we use to accomplish it.

  1. January 21, 2011 at 10:20 am

Leave a Reply

