Home > business, personal, self-help > Aligning your levels of happiness

Aligning your levels of happiness

Shiny happy people

Photo courtesy of Donna Cymek, Creative Commons license

We all want to be happy. And that’s a goal worth striving for. But sometimes — and I count myself in the group, unequivocally — we forsake one level of happiness for another.

What do I mean by “level of happiness”? Simple: Short-term, intermediate-term and long-term.

When you maximize each level of happiness, you will be happiest.

We all are focused on our short-term happiness, trying to satiate our desires each hour, each day. Whether that’s grabbing a coffee at Starbucks or making sure we catch the new episode of “Glee,” generally, our short-term happiness is not neglected.

And that seems intuitive, given the immediacy of our culture.

But what of our intermediate-term and long-term happiness? It seems to me that those two are neglected more often. (Again, I am certainly speaking about myself.)

Long-term goals are easier to strive for, I think, than intermediate-term goals. But is just having goals for each of the three levels enough to make us happiest?

I don’t think so. Instead, what needs to happen is that we need to make progress or achieve some of our goals in each level. Make sure you take time out from feeding your short-term happiness and help feed those longer-term happinesses.

Maybe it’s time for me to sit down and write of list of my longer-term goals. After that, it’s just a matter of prioritizing and chipping away at those goals. I need to align my levels of happiness so that I can achieve my happiest state of mind.

Do you agree? What’s your take on attaining a harmonious state in your levels of happiness?

Categories: business, personal, self-help Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

