Home > personal > Why I stopped NaNoWriMo 2010

Why I stopped NaNoWriMo 2010

Days: 3. Words: 4,871.

That’s how long I lasted in NaNoWriMo this year. And I stopped after that.

After three days, I should have been at 5,000 words to keep pace. So really, I was on track to complete it.

Why, then, did I stop?

For those three days, I had spent my time from about 9:30 p.m. to midnight (or sooner if I reached the day’s quota) on the computer, typing away.

  • I didn’t have time for blogging (including this one, my food blog and my arts + photography blog), among other things.
  • I couldn’t see myself glued to the computer so much every day, especially when it was causing me to be groggy the next day.
  • I didn’t love it.

Sure, I didn’t love the story, but really, I didn’t love the writing. The process. Maybe it was partially that I didn’t like how my novel was turning out. (Maybe more advanced game planning was necessary.) But I think what bugged me more was sitting in front of the computer so much every day, and that was making me mentally fatigued.

Going into it this year, I just didn’t realize how much my priorities had changed from previous attempts. Ultimately, I love (love, love) blogging, and to forgo doing so on three blogs for one month was just too much.

Categories: personal Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

