Home > personal, sports > @dailymile #fail — but feeling good

@dailymile #fail — but feeling good

On my second post on this blog, I wrote about why I loved discovering dailymile, the fitness social network. And I also set my motivation to complete 500 cycling miles from July to September, a three-month span.

OK, I haven’t met my goal, and I won’t. I haven’t gone on a ride for 18 days now, and I’m at 378 miles of my 500-mile goal.

So, I’m going to miss my goal by nearly 20 percent. But that doesn’t bother me at all.

My wife was off her feet recently, which is why I haven’t had time to go on a ride. My free time has been consumed with puppy and wife sitting and household management.  And I’m pretty confident I would have gotten to 500 miles if that accident had not happened. But, hey, that’s life, always throwing wrenches into the best-laid plans.

In two of my last four rides, I had a combined 86 miles. And considering I could have gone on at least one ride per week, hitting 122 in four rides would have been a breeze in comparison.

Frankly, though, the reason why I’m happy in spite of my failure was put simpler by me on dailymile:

The purpose of my goal was to get me riding more anyway, not to hit an arbitrary mileage goal. And I have been riding more this year (I rode less than 100 miles each year for the past few years).

Getting back on my bike coincided with me buying a working cycling computer, and that was the motivation I leveraged in getting back onto my bike. And getting back to doing something I love is what was important in my inaugural @dailymile adventure.

A little about my bike:

My Trek 330 touring bike

My Trek 330 touring bike

I’m not sure how old it is, but I’ve had it for more than 12 years. It’s a Trek 330 touring bike. (Yes, it has clipless pedals.)

Categories: personal, sports Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

