Home > personal, self-help > Proclivity toward production

Proclivity toward production

As I mentioned in my previous post, my wife had a bit of an accident recently that forced her to rest a lot. Because of that, I found that I was running the household.

Now, on the surface, there shouldn’t be anything wrong with that. It was a temporary situation and she was sympathetic to the work I needed to get done.

And what I found, especially in the first few days when I was managing the household, was that I was extremely stressed (see the last post “Just let it go” for more).

But when I stopped to think about it, I thought there was such a “good” thing about me having to take more responsibility on my shoulders. I found that I was trying to clean up small messes here and there and trying to tidy things up as much as possible. The more I did those little things, the easier it would be to get other stuff done, I thought.

Then the real epiphany hit. As the only one available to take care of tasks around the house, I had no excuses to give if chores did not get done.

I had to get it done; it forced a proclivity toward production. The real challenge, I now know, is learning to keep the same mental state even when I’m not the only one who can complete tasks around the house.

Categories: personal, self-help Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 27, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Leave a Reply

