Home > personal, social media > This is where social media has taken me

This is where social media has taken me

Jim Raffel published a blog post last week (“Where Can Social Media Take You?”) that he published in response to Julie Larsen’s blog post (“Amazing things happen on the way to change”).

So, where has social media taken me?

Well, it’s been about a year since I joined Twitter, and in that time, my wife and I have made a lot of connections — there’s a lot of great people out there we probably wouldn’t have met without social media — including a bunch of fellow Wisconsin food bloggers.

And those food blogging connections have taken us on a Milwaukee Food Tour and we hope to Git Down with some Gumbo in October.

I’ve also met other Waukesha area professionals from LinkedIn in a networking meeting. It was a great way to learn about others and their businesses in my community.

And in dailymile I’ve found an online community that has been a huge pillar of support as I try to reach my goal of cycling 500 miles from July to September. (I’m nearly there, and I think I’ll make it.)

Social networking for me has been a way to increase the number of people I meet, especially now that I have a limited budget and can’t afford to go out to paid gatherings every night.

Instead, I’ve been able to start building and nurturing those relationships through the social networks I venture onto most frequently. (While I do nurture some relationships on Facebook, the relationships I have there are primarily started offline and continued online.)

I know that once some of those relationships get to a certain point, we’ll have a blast taking a trip brought on by social media.

  1. August 31, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    So, a post inspires a post that inspires a post? Who’s next, let’s keep this going, it’s what social media is all about! Thanks for including the link back to my blog, much appreciated.

    • September 1, 2010 at 11:53 pm

      Yeah, it’s very snowballish. Thanks for inspiring me!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

