Home > social media tools > Social Media Super Tool Combo: Kippt + Feedly

Social Media Super Tool Combo: Kippt + Feedly

Kippt

A preview of the Kippt interface. If you use the social bookmarking tool along with Feedly, you’ll have a social media super tool combo.

I started a recurring column on my blog this year focusing on social combos, those times when two tools come together to do something special.

Let’s talk about that.

Ever since Google Reader announced its farewell, I’ve switched to Feedly. It’s been an amazing RSS tool, living up to how I used Reader. And one thing that has enhanced its features is Kippt, the social curation site.

On Kippt, you can create a list and curate things you find from around the web to that list.

And one of the features that is great is that you can take each list as an RSS feed and import it into Feedly.

There are a few lists that I use to fill up Feedly. The first is a read later Kippt list, on which I save any story, link or item from around the web that I just wasn’t able to finish consuming. It’s a great way to ensure I always get to see the content that I want.

The second is a Twitter favorites list. Basically, you use Kippt the same way, saving content from around the web. This used to work much more fluidly by aggregating everything you favstar on Twitter. And then the RSS would pick it up on Kippt and send it straight to my Feedly. But that functionality went away when Twitter closed off its API.

Still, you can use it the same way, but opening links from Twitter and then using the Kippt bookmark.

This is one way to ensure that all of your Twitter favorites will make it to a place where you can read later.

(It’s especially helpful if you’re like me and don’t use Instapaper or any sort of tool like that, and prefer to have all of your content flow in through one source. That’s RSS for me.)

And it’s just another example of how you can crush your everyday behaviors by combining social tools into a social media super tool combo.

Categories: social media tools Tags: , ,
  1. March 18, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    Seriously, SUPER helpful! I’ve been trying so many different things to curate articles from around the web – Pinterest (too clunky for real bookmarking), Twitter favorites (how can I find which one I’m looking for quickly? Ain’t nobody got time for that!), and, of course, Feedly (for my RSS bookmarks).

    I would like to use Evernote, but will have to upgrade my hardware before that can happen. Maybe the Kippt/Feedly combo will satisfy the need!

    Have you used Pocket?

    • March 19, 2014 at 8:13 am

      I have not used Pocket. Didn’t it start as iOS only? I think that may be why I never got around to checking it out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,790 other followers

