Home > personal, social media, social media tools, sports, wish list > Social Wish List: Dailymile and Strava Channels on IFTTT

Social Wish List: Dailymile and Strava Channels on IFTTT

The day when you hit your goal mileage -- 1,200 -- and your top speed -- 41.2 mph -- during the same ride. #bikeschool #Trek #SeenOnMyRide #cycling

I would love to be able to take the Strava data recorded on my smartphone and send it straight to Dailymile. Please, IFTTT, help put the Web to work for me.

I am an avid recreational cyclist. I love to go for long rides in the penetratingly exasperating heat of July. And I love to push my body to its fastest on tough short local courses.

Regardless of the type of ride that I go on, I log my miles and information into Dailymile, a social network dedicated to fitness.

But the app that I use to record my rides on my smartphone is Strava, a cycling-focused app that is used by the top professionals in the world.

This is where I would bring in IFTTT, putting the power of the web for my personal use. IFTTT is one of my favorite tools, and it performs functions that make my life so much easier. It automates tasks and chores that make my daily web use run smoother and faster, and it frees up my time to do other tasks, like being social on social media.

And while IFTTT does a great job expanding and growing, I would love to request that the site make channels for Strava and Dailymile.

I would love to see users create recipes that transfers data between the two networks. I would love to be able to record a ride on Strava with its GPS feature and have the map of my ride transferred to Dailymile.

Automation is where IFTTT shines, and this is one more way in which my social efforts could use some automation tricks.

Reader feedback: What channels would you like to see IFTTT include?

  1. March 2, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    I love this! I actually found your post doing a search for Dailymile/IFTTT integration. I +1 this suggestion. I use Google’s Tracks, which automatically saves a file into my G-Drive. So, if IFTTT had a channel with Dailymile, I could easily write a recipe for all new Tracks files to auto-sync to Dailymile, and then I’d never have to manually update again. As-is, I also wear a garmin, which I upload every 15 days or so…so I get behind.

    • March 2, 2014 at 10:53 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, I struggle with it because I want to update them both, but I end up focusing on Dailymile since I have so many more friends there.

      But Strava has great features that I like specific to cycling. And it ends up being tough to put in time for both networks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,790 other followers

