Home > entertainment > My Top 10 Favorite Books of All Time

My Top 10 Favorite Books of All Time

I love to read, I love libraries and, yes, I love the smell of new books. (Crazy?)

A few of my favorite books of all time.

A few of my favorite books of all time.

But those reasons are why I was drawn in to the blog post that Gini Dietrich wrote on Spin Sucks about her 10 favorite books of all time. It got me thinking about my list.

(I read a lot of graphic novels and science fiction, so if you’re not familiar with those genres, you might not recognize some of the books on my list.)

In no particular order:

  1. Watchmen“. If you’ve seen the movie, it pales in comparison to the graphic novel, which reprints a 12-issue series from the 1980s. There’s not much I can say about it that hasn’t already been said. Go read it.
  2. Towing Jehovah” (and the rest of the Godhead trilogy). God is dead, and the characters in this series have to deal with those ramifications. Yes, there’s philosophy addressed, but there’s also great development and characters.
  3. Dune” (and the rest of the original series). The spice will flow. Duh.
  4. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Ihad a tough time with this one. There’s probably a few other Philip K. Dick titles that could be here, but I want with this iconic novel.
  5. Crime and Punishment“. This is on the list for the tone of the novel, which haunts me to this day. There are certainly a lot of great classics that could be included, but this one was my favorite. “Great Expectations” was a close second.
  6. Crush It! This business/self-help/motivational scribe is the kick in the pants that you didn’t know you needed. Read it, live it.
  7. Bone. A fantastic fantasy comic book series collected in this large paperback. How does a group of strangers in a valley kingdom have ties to that kingdom without knowing so?
  8. Cerebus: Church & State.” This series was 300 issues and lasted decades. And there’s some controversy surrounding the creator, Dave Sim, and some of the later volumes. But the Church & State storyline (volumes 3 and 4 of the series) have some of the best characters, humor and story. (The High Society storyline, volume 2, is also excellent, and would be recommended if you decide to read Church & State.)
  9. Demo. A great marriage of moody dialogue and writing and equally as deep art create this short graphic novel, a compilation of 12 issues.
  10. Freakonomics. Using economics to tackle questions that some would think should be tackled with other disciplines. And reaching unexpected conclusions.

Join me on Goodreads and let’s discover more great books. Or head over to Amazon and check out these books.

Categories: entertainment Tags: ,
  1. August 13, 2012 at 8:37 am

    Crush It is also in my top 5 list. Love that book. Thanks for the suggestions, Dan! :)

  2. August 13, 2012 at 8:43 am

    I’m an avid reader and always looking for new authors/genres! This is a great list, Dan, and I look forward to reading some of these books you suggested.

  3. August 13, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Interesting list… it’s hard for me to be very interesting in picking up a book. Yes, finding the time is hard also. I have read Dune… a thick book.. :) Will look into Crime and Punishment, and Crush it… thanks for sharing

  4. razncain
    August 13, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Dan, I’m glad that you make time to read. I use to be quite the bookworm, but now consider that a luxury. The only book on your list that I’ve read is Crush It – and yes, it was a great read and motivation. My favorite author was Ken Follett – loved to read about espionage. :)

    • August 13, 2012 at 11:47 am

      I love espionage fiction, but I couldn’t think of any that I would put on my top 10 list.

  5. August 13, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Great list! I know exactly what you mean by the smell of new books. I need to get back into reading more novels and let my mind take a break from marketing, branding, and social media! Thanks for the post!

    • August 13, 2012 at 11:51 am

      I generally am in the middle of a couple of books at a time, and I try to keep their genres different so I can switch from one if I get bored with it.

  6. August 13, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    HA I read so many books a year I could never put together a top 10 – besides since I interview authors someone would get their feelings hurt.

    • August 14, 2012 at 10:49 am

      Yes, there’s a few from your radio show that have made it to my “to read” list.

  7. August 14, 2012 at 5:08 am

    Great list! I’m always looking for book suggestions. The only one I’ve read from this list is Crime and Punishment. Will get my hands on the others too.

  8. August 14, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Some very good books! I’ve read four of your 10. Also, your fair food is making me hungry!

    • August 14, 2012 at 12:04 pm

      Thanks, Gini. You only have to wait another year for the next state fair! :)

  9. August 15, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    Crime and Punishment has been on my to-read list for a while now! To be fair, I have a few other classics before it:/ Now if I could just find time to read again!!! (Nothing like a good long train commute to get those books in!) LOL.

  10. August 17, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    Dan, loved #3 and really loved #10. I tend to avoid works of fiction unless someone I trust recommends highly. In that arena I’d add Water for Elephants. Got me at the first line. Thanks for the list.

  1. August 17, 2012 at 10:24 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,790 other followers

